Pizza & diabetes?

Here is a question I recently received from foodpicker.org

Question: Friday nights my family & I have dinner at our favorite pizza restaurant.  Now that I’ve been diagnosed with diabetes I don’t know what to order.  Could you help me with what (if anything) I can order?

Answer: Going out to eat can be difficult because often times restaurants don’t have nutrition facts available for the meals they serve. If it’s a chain restaurant you’re going to, you may want to ask if they have nutrition facts since they are making them more available for cutsomers. I would recommend ordering a thin crust pizza and loading it up with non-starchy vegetables such as mushrooms, onions, peppers, and tomatoes. Non-starchy vegetables have about 5 grams of carbohydrate in 1/2 c. cooked or 1 c. raw and most of the carbohydrate is fiber. If you want meat on your pizza try adding canadian bacon which has much less fat than pepperoni or sausage. You may also want to start out with a salad beforehand (be careful with the dressing!) that way you won’t be starving when your pizza arrives. I would recommend eating no more than 1/4 of a 12″ pizza or 2 small slices. If you have leftovers you can always take them home. I think the key here is to just try to be consistent with your carbyhydrate intake and try to keep your portion sizes the same as you would at home.

Leave a Reply

